Thanks for stopping by
Totem followers this way
Deep Space Nine von Vianney Halter

What is Haute Horlogerie and what does it have to do with the quartz crisis?

Literally translated “Haute Horlogerie” means high (art of) watchmaking. The term emerged in the 1970s during the quartz crisis. Another term like that. In the 1970s, more and more watches were being made that kept time much better, i.e. more accurately, than the mechanical watches that had come before. It was a kind of disruption of the watch market and many watch brands died because sales collapsed. Quartz watches are cheap, low-maintenance and don’t need to be wound. An advantage in everyday life, but nothing that has a soul. For this reason, there is a trend towards mechanical watches, which is rather small in terms of market volume, in terms of units, because meanwhile people appreciate mechanical movements as a kind of luxury or status symbol, above all Rolex, which are also regarded as an investment. In general, I’ll keep it short here and write less of a wiki, but a bit more about watchmakers of the high art.

Marketing Instrument: Haute Horlogerie Brands

The Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie, FHH is an association that aims to communicate the excellence of watchmaking to the world. For example, it organises the SIHH – Salon International de la Haute Horlogerie Genève. In this association you will find some big brands like Tag Heuer, Zenith, Rolex, Audemars Piguet and other brands from the Swatch Group or Richemont. https://www.hautehorlogerie.org/en/brands/.
In addition, there are some independent watchmakers among the partners or in the wider circle. Among them are Kari Voutilainen, Thomas Prescher or Vianney Halter (cover picture, his Deep Space). The FHH is an association of brands and master watchmakers who practise the fine art on their own. These are called independent watchmakers or independent Watchmaker. They all strive together to push watchmaking to new heights and we get to see new, great, freaky, wondrously beautiful, intricate watches every year. Mechanical, mind you!

Complications explained

What makes high art? When does a brand or independent watchmaker belong in the select circle? Simply put, it’s about mastering complications. Complications are functions of the movement and their technical implementation. The integration of a stopwatch function is a widespread complication. It is called a chronograph. It is followed by rattrapante, a second second hand in the stopwatch function, power reserve, flyback, world time (GMT), moon phase, perpetual calendar and others. Furthermore, there are acoustic complications, such as minute repeaters, which reproduce the time in acoustic signals, like a church steeple, when a pusher is pressed. This may sound strange and nonsensical, but anyone who ever wanted to read a clock at night, before 1870, appreciated this function as useful. It was just too dark.

Tourbillion

A tourbillion is currently a complication, or rather a technical detail, which is often shown at the moment. The picture shows a Triple Axis Tourbillion by Vianney Halter. In short, the more functions or complications a watch has, the more difficult it is to make. Only a master watchmaker can make such complex machines. Below are a few examples of the kind you don’t see every day, especially the last two. The pack of cards is on the back of the watch made by Svend Andersen, who co-founded the AHCI. When the button is pressed, everyone in the scene starts playing cards. The last clock shows our solar system, and not statically, but the current position of the planets in relation to the sun.

Breitling recently became a partner brand of the Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie

16.10.2018 Because it’s so topical and I just wrote about my second favourite at Baselworld, a Breitling Superocean, the news just fits in here. Just as I’m researching FHH, along comes the news from the Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie: We are pleased to welcome Breitling as new partner-brand. https://www.hautehorlogerie.org/en/brands/brand/s/breitling/

I will write more about the independent watchmakers in another article soon. In general, I already do this here and there. More to come.

 


Bildquelle ganz oben: Vianney Halter, www.vianney-halter.com

Share
About author / Florian

Ich schreibe gern, anders und über Uhren.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

Danke für deinen Besuch
Folge deinem Totem auf Instagram
Deep Space Nine von Vianney Halter

Was ist Haute Horlogerie auf deutsch und was hat sie mit der Quarzkrise zu tun?

Auf deutsch wörtlich übersetzt bedeutet Haute Horlogerie in etwa hohe (Kunst der) Uhrmacherei. Der Begriff kam auf in den 1970er Jahren während der Quarzkrise. Noch so ein Begriff. In den 70ern stellte man zunehmend Uhren her die die Zeit viel besser halten, also genauer gehen, als die bisher mechanischen Uhren. Es war eine Art Disruption des Uhrenmarktes und viele Uhrenmarken starben, weil der Absatz einbrach. Quarzuhren sind billig, wartungsarm und müssen nicht aufgezogen werden. Ein Vorteil im Alltag, jedoch nichts, was eine Seele besitzt. Aus diesem Grund gibt es einen Trend zu mechanischen Uhren, der vom Marktvolumen eher klein ist, in Stückzahlen, denn mittlerweile schätzt man mechanische Werke als eine Art Luxus oder Statussymbol, allen voran Rolex, die zudem noch als Wertanlage gelten. Allgemein halte ich mich hier eher kurz und schreibe weniger ein Wiki, dafür aber Stück für Stück noch einiges zu Uhrmachern der hohen Kunst.

Marketing Instrument, Haute Horlogerie Brands

Die Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie, FHH ist ein Verband, der zum Ziel hat, die Exzellenz der Uhrmacherkunst in die Welt zu kommunizieren. Sie veranstaltet zum Beispiel den SIHH – Salon International de la Haute Horlogerie Genève. In diesem Verband findet man einige große Brands wie Tag Heuer, Zenith, Rolex, Audemars Piguet und andere Marken aus der Swatch Gruppe oder Richemont. https://www.hautehorlogerie.org/en/brands/.
Zusätzlich findet man einige unabhängige Uhrmacher unter den Partnern oder im weiteren Kreis. Darunter finden sich Kari Voutilainen, Thomas Prescher oder Vianney Halter (Titelbild, seine Deep Space). Der FHH ist ein Verband aus Marken und Uhrenmachermeistern, die die hohe Kunst in Eigenregie ausüben. Diese nennt man unabhängige Uhrmacher oder independent Watchmaker. Alle streben gemeinsam danach, die Uhrmacherei in neue Höhen zu treiben und wir bekommen jedes Jahr neue, großartige, ausgeflippte, wünderschöne, komplizierte Uhren zu sehen. Mechanisch, wohl gemerkt!

Komplikationen

Was macht die Hohe Kunst? Wann gehört man als Marke oder Independent Watchmaker in den Kreis der Auserwählten? Simpel gesagt geht es dabei um das Meistern von Komplikationen. Komplikationen sind Funktionen des Werks und deren technische Umsetzungskunst. Die Integration einer Stoppuhrfunktion ist eine weit verbreitete Komplikation. Man nennt sie Chronograph. Es folgen Rattrapante, ein zweiter Sekundenzeiger bei der Stoppuhrfunktion, Gangreserve, Flyback, Weltzeit (GMT), Mondphase, ewiger Kalender und weitere. Des Weiteren gibt es akustische Komplikationen, wie Minute Repeater, die beim Drücken eines Drückers die Zeit in akustischen Signalen, wie ein Kirchturm wiedergeben. Das klingt vielleicht komisch und unsinnig, aber wer schon mal nachts, vor 1870, eine Uhr ablesen wollte, der wusste diese Funktion als sinnvol zu schätzen. Es war einfach zu dunkel.

Tourbillion

Ein Tourbillion ist momentan eine Komplikation, oder eher ein technisches Detail, was momentan öfters gezeigt wird. Das Beitragsbild zeigt ein Triple Axis Tourbillion von Vianney Halter.  Kurz gesagt, je mehr Funktionen, oder Komplikationen eine Uhr in sich vereint, desto schwieriger ist dessen Herstellung. Nur ein Meister der Uhrmacherei kann solche komplexen Maschinen herstellen. Unten einige Beispiele, der Art, wie man sie nicht alle Tage sieht, vor allem die letzten beiden. Das Kartenspiel befindet sich auf der Rückseite der Uhr von Svend Andersen, der den AHCI mit gegründet hat. Beim Betätigen des Drückes fangen alle Beteiligten der Szene an, Karten zu spielen. Die letzte Uhr zeigt unser Sonnensystem und zwar nicht statisch, sondern die aktuelle Position der Planeten zur Sonne.

Breitling seit kurzem Partner Brand der Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie

16.10.2018 Weil es so aktuell ist und ich gerade über meinen zweiten Favorit bei der Baselworld schrieb, einer Breitling Superocean, passt die Neuigkeit einfach hier hinein. Gerade recherchiere ich bei der FHH, kommt die Neuigkeit der Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie: We are pleased to welcome Breitling as new partner-brand. https://www.hautehorlogerie.org/en/brands/brand/s/breitling/

In einem weiteren Artikel werde ich bald mehr zu den Independent Watchmakern schreiben. Allgemein tue ich das hier und da schon. More to come.

 


Bildquelle ganz oben: Vianney Halter, www.vianney-halter.com

Share
About author / Florian

Ich schreibe gern, anders und über Uhren.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.