Thanks for stopping by
Totem followers this way

Deep Space triple axis tourbillon

Is Vianney from outer space? I am asking that because his enthusiasm for space is tremendous.
Certainly the most famous watch by Vianney Halter is related to this. It is called Deep Space triple axis Tourbillon.

Deep Space triple axis Tourbillon Bild

Deep Space triple axis Tourbillon (Source: Instagram)

Vianney is a fan of space travel, collects comics, special watches, is a pilot and not only repairs and builds watches. His love of deep space, however, is very formative. In his workshop, which from the outside doesn’t let you guess what’s going on inside, he makes very special watches and other things. I won’t go into his models now, except for the Deep Space, but I will tell you a little about his workshop. On the second picture you can see parts of his triple axis tourbillon watch.

Vianney Halter…

The haute horlogeur

First of all, Vianney is an haute horlogeur. Since much has already been written about Vianney’s watches, from blogs and the AHCI, I will concentrate on the Vianney type. It is amazing how different the types of watchmakers are that I have had the pleasure of meeting. You might think in pigeonholes, “they’re all the same”. Accurate, nerdy, organised, pedantic and whatever else you might commonly associate with watchmakers. When I was very small, we had a watchmaker who was also a carpenter in the castle of Laubach. Mr Ackermann was a jack-of-all-trades and, in my memory, always old and wise. I thought that someone like that could do all sorts of things. The workshop in the orangery of the castle was a great place. But back to Vianney’s workshops:

Is that what a watchmaker should do? Or should he stay calm no matter what happens like an elder statesman? https://www.instagram.com/vianney_halter_official/

Best Designer Watch Award at the SDGC in Dubai 2015

Best Designer Watch Award at the SDGC in Dubai 2015

Vianney has won countless awards, such as the GPHG – Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2003 Innovation Award for the Opus 3, Best watchmaker designer in 2011 and in 2013 with his Deep Space Tourbillon. Plus many other prizes and honours. I don’t have a hit list now, but he’s right up there in terms of awards, I think. For those who don’t know him, there are a few links below. For those who know all his watches, here are a few stories away from the technical details. Let’s start with his desk and workshop. A little tour.

Vianney, the Pilot

Sorry, I don’t have a picture of him in a cockpit, except the knowledge that he has a license and some stories about flying a plane. And not badly either. His plane is of course a special aircraft. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the type of plane, only the story behind the fact that the wings of the aeronautical device hang from the ceiling of his workshop. A spare engine is lying not far away and the nose wheel, which is used to steer the plane when it is on the ground, is lying on a workbench being overhauled. The plane he flies has a peculiarity. You can only steer it on the ground when you accelerate. That’s actually the same with other aeroplanes, but you can usually steer the wheel, no matter what the throttle position. But I’m not that familiar with it. If anyone meets him who reads this, just ask him for the latest.

Vianney Halter der Wingman

Vianney Halter – in his aircraft hangar, watch workshop and more…

Vianney the mechanic

Whoever builds watches is actually also a mechanic. However, it seems to me that Vianney screws on all kinds of things, such as a BMW 850 or another old-timer that is at least 70 years old. I have already described his plane. The community of pilots of this machine is probably eagerly awaiting his ingenious solution to the steering problem.

Vianney der collector

I think collectors are very understanding when they meet other collectors. With watch collecting, one can always talk oneself out of the fact that the time irons have a value, and thus justify one’s passion for collecting under the guise of investment. With Coke cans this becomes difficult, but those who collect are simply emotionally lost to their collectibles. So what does Vianney collect? Watches, of course!

“Wow, what facts, a watchmaker who collects watches” – you might say and think of wristwatches, or even a table clock. No! He collects tower clocks and has done so since childhood. He bought his first tower clock when he was 16 and drove it home with a wheelbarrow. If I remember correctly, this is the clock in his collection that is 600 years old (!!!).

A visit to a museum is less exciting than his workshop.

600 Jahre alte Turmuhr Bild

600 year-old tower clock

Next to the “tower clocks” section is the “contemporary art” section with prints and original comic drawings of all kinds. With pleasure also with deep space background. Unfortunately, there was not enough time to look at everything in one afternoon. Maybe he should just open a gallery? And a tower clock museum.
Anyone who has met Vianney will confirm this. He is a very nice and enthusiastic person who loves to tell stories. You almost don’t believe that he is capable of building such watches, precisely because he is so atypical of the typical watchmaker. But there is no such thing as a typical watchmaker. He’s just so uncomplicated, doesn’t put himself and his works in the foreground, doesn’t have an agenda that always says sell, sell…. He doesn’t have to. Just watch a video of him. Okay, he’s a little different there than at home.

Vianney

 


Links:

VIANNEY HALTER


GPHG Deep Space Tourbillon Preis: http://www.gphg.org/horlogerie/en/watches/deep-space-tourbillon

 

Share
About author / Florian

Ich schreibe gern, anders und über Uhren.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

Danke für deinen Besuch
Folge deinem Totem auf Instagram

Deep Space triple axis tourbillon

Der Titel ist eine Anspielung auf die sicher bekannteste Uhr von Vianney Halter. Es ist die Deep Space triple axis Tourbillon.

Deep Space triple axis Tourbillon Bild

Deep Space triple axis Tourbillon (Quelle: Instagram)

Vianney ist ein Fan der Raumfahrt, sammelt Comics, spezielle Uhren, ist Pilot und repariert und baut nicht nur Uhren. Seine Liebe zum deep space, dem Weltraum ist allerdings sehr prägend. In seiner Werkstatt die von außen nicht vermuten lässt was drinnen passiert, entstehen sehr spezielle Uhren und anderes. Ich gehe jetzt nicht auf seine Modelle ein, bis auf die Deep Space, sondern erzähle ein wenig aus dem Nähkästchen und seiner Werkstatt. Auf dem zweiten Bild sieht man teile seiner triple axis Tourbillon Uhr.

Vianney Halter…

Der haute horlogeur

Vorweg, Vianney ist ein haute horlogeur. Da schon viel über Vianneys Uhren geschrieben wurde, von Blogs und dem AHCI will ich mich auf den Typ Vianney konzentrieren. Es ist estaunlich, wie unterschiedlich die Typen von Uhrmachern so sind, die ich bisher kennenlernen durfte. Man denkt vielleicht in Schubladen, „die sind alle gleich“. Akkurat, nerdig, organisiert, pedantisch und was man sonst noch so mit Uhrmachern landläufig verbinden mag. Als ich ganz klein war, hatten wir einen Uhrmacher der gleichzeitig Schreiner war im Schloss von Laubach. Der Herr Ackermann war ein Alleskönner und in meiner Erinnerung schon immer alt und Weise. Ich dachte, dass so jemand alles mögliche kann. Die Werkstatt in der Orangerie des Schlosses war ein toller Ort. Aber zurück zu Vianneys Werkstätten:

Macht ein Uhrmacher so etwas? https://www.instagram.com/vianney_halter_official/

Best Designer Watch Award at the SDGC in Dubai 2015

Best Designer Watch Award at the SDGC in Dubai 2015

 

Ja klar! Vianney hat unzählige Preise gewonnen, wie den GPHG – Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève 2003 den Innovationspreis für die Opus 3, 2011 den Best watchmaker designer und 2013 mit seiner Deep Space Tourbillon. Dazu viele andere Preise und Ehrungen. Ich habe jetzt keine Hitliste, aber er steht da ganz oben, was Preise angeht, denke ich. Für die, die ihn nicht kennen, gibt es unten ein paar Links zum einlesen. Die die seine Uhren alle kennen, bekommen hier ein paar Stories abseits von technischen Details. Fangen wir bei Schreibtisch und Werkstatt an. Ein kleiner Rundgang.

Vianney, der Pilot

Okay, hiervon habe ich kein Bild, außer dem Wissen dass er fliegen kann. Und das wohl auch nicht schlecht. Sein Flugzeug ist natürlich auch ein spezielles Fluggerät. Leider weiss ich den Typ des Flugzeuges nicht mehr aus dem Gedächtnis, nur die Geschichte hinter der Tatsache, dass die Flügel des aeronatischen Geräts an der Decke seiner Werkstatt hängen. Ein Ersatzmotor liegt in unweiter Nähe und das Bugrad, mit dem man beim Fahren auf dem Boden steuert, ligt auf einer Werkbank und wird überarbeitet. Das Flugzeug, dass er fliegt, hat eine Eigenart. Man kann es am Boden nur dann lenken, wenn man Gas gibt. Das ist bei anderen Flugzeugen ja eigentlich genauso, allerdings kann man meist auch das Rad lenken, egal welche Gasstellung. Aber so genau kenne ich damit nicht aus. Falls jemand ihn trifft, der das hier liest, fragt ihn doch einfach nach dem Neuesten Stand.

Vianney Halter der Wingman

Vianney Halter der Wingman in seiner Flugzeugwerft

Vianney der Mechaniker

Wer Uhren baut, der ist ja eigentlich auch Menchaniker. Vianney allerdingsm so scheint mir, schraubt an allem möglichenm wie zm Beispiel ein BMW 850 oder ein anderer Oldtimer, der mindestens 70 Jahre alt ist. Sein Flugzeug hab ich ja bereits beschrieben. Die Community der Piloten dieses Geräts wartet wohl auch schon sehnsüchtig auf seine Ingeniale Lösung des Lenkproblems.

Vianney der Sammler

Sammler denke ich, sind sehr verständnisvoll, wenn sie auf andere Sammler treffen. Beim Uhrensammeln kann man sich immer herausreden, dass die Zeiteisen einen Wert haben, und seine Sammelleidenschaft so unter dem Deckmantel der Investition rechtfertigen. Bei Coladosen wird das schwierig, aber wer sammelt, der ist halt einfach emotional an seine Sammelobjekte verloren gegangen. Also was sammelt Vianney wohl? Uhren natütlich!
„Wow, was für Fakten, ein Uhrmacher, der Uhren sammelt“ – Könnte man sagen und denkt an Armbanduhren, oder mal eine Tischuhr. Nein! Er sammelt Turmuhren und das schon seit seiner Kindheit. Die Erste Turmuhr hat er mit 16 gekauft und mit der Schubkarre nach Hause gefahren. Wenn ich mich richtig erinnere, ist dies die Uhr seiner Sammlung, die 600 Jahre alt ist (!!!)
Ein Museumsbesuch ist weniger spannend, als seine Werkstatt.

600 Jahre alte Turmuhr Bild

600 Jahre alte Turmuhr

Neben der Abteilung „Turmuhren“ findet sich gleich die Abteilung „contemporary art“ mit Drucken und originalen Comiczeichnungen aller Art. Gerne auch mit Deep Space Hintergrund. Für einen Nachmittag leider zu wenig Zeit, sich alles anzuschauen. Vielleicht sollte er einfach eine Galerie eröffnen? Und ein Turm Uhren Museum.

Jeder der Vianney getroffen hat, wird das bestätigen. Er ist ein sehr netter und begeisternder Mensch, der gerne Geschichten erzählt. Man glaubt fast nicht, dass er in der Lage ist, solche Uhren zu bauen, eben weil er so untypisch für den typischen Uhrmacher ist. Wobei – den typischen Uhrmacher gibts gar nicht.
Er ist einfach so unkompliziert, stellt sich und seine Werke nicht in den Vordergrund, hat keine Agenda, die immer sagt Verkaufen, Verkaufen… Muss er auch nicht. Schaut Euch einfach mal ein Video von ihm an. Okay, da ist er ein wenig anders als zuhause.

Vianney and me

 

 


Links:
http://www.vianney-halter.com/
GPHG Deep Space Tourbillon Preis: http://www.gphg.org/horlogerie/en/watches/deep-space-tourbillon

 

Share
About author / Florian

Ich schreibe gern, anders und über Uhren.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.